Chinese History

Xia Dynasty, Prehistory, and Mythology
Shang Dynasty 商 (17th-11th cent. BCE)
Zhou Dynasty 周 (11th cent.-221 BCE)
Qin Dynasty 秦 (221-206 BCE)
Han and Xin 漢 (206 BCE-220 CE), 新 (8-22 CE)
Middle Ages
Three Kingdoms 三國 (220~280)
Jin 晉 (265-420)
16 Barbarian States 五胡十六國 (300~430)
Southern Dynasties 南朝 (420-589)
Northern Dynasties 北朝 (386~581)
Sui Dynasty 隋 (581-618)
Tang Dynasty 唐 (618-907)
Five Dynasties 五代 (907-960)
Ten States 十國 (902~979)
Early Modern Age
Song Dynasty 宋 (960-1279)
Liao (Kitans) 遼 (907-1125)
Western Xia (Tanguts) 西夏 (1038-1227)
Jin (Jurchens) 金 (1115-1234)
Yuan Dynasty(Mongols) 元 (1279-1368)
Ming Dynasty 明 (1368-1644)
Qing Dynasty(Manchus) 清 (1644-1912)
Modern Age
Republic of China 中華民國 (1912-1949)
People’s Republic 中华人民共和国 (since 1949)
Taiwan R.O.C. 台灣 (中華民國; since 1949)

China consists 34 administrative divisions, including 23 provinces, 4 municipalities, 5 autonomous regions and 2 Special Administative Regions. These administrative divisions are Hebei Province, Shanxi Province, Liaoning Province, Jilin Province, Heilongjiang Province, Jiangsu Province, Zhejiang Province, Anhui Province, Fujian Province, Jiangxi Province, Shandong Province, Henan Province, Hubei Province, Hunan Province, Guangdong Province, Hainan Province, Sichuan Province, Guizhou Province, Yunan Province, Shaanxi Province, Gansu Province, Qinghai Province, Taiwan Province, Beijing Municipality, Tianjin Municipality, Shanghai Municipality, Chongqing Municipality, Guangxi Autonomous Region, Neimenggu Autonomous Regionm, Xizang Autonomous Region, Ningxia Autonomous Region, Xinjiang Autonomous Region, Hong Kong SAR and Macau SAR.

Next articleChina Physical Map



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here